« Low information politicians, low information voters... | rationalcauses's Blog | Memo to Congress: Should you cave on the Paulson plan »
Obama Campaign: "www.barackObama.com" not helping
I just asked a few people I know to go to Barack Obama's website to learn more about him. I was talking on the phone so I just asked them to google for his site.
Well, if you google for "barackobama.com", one of the first (likely ad-paid) responses is the webpage ""www.barackObama.com".
If you're not looking closely, you'll mistake that for his official website.
That URL, however, says "Welcome to Obama for America", nothing else, and does not let you proceed without providing an email and zip code.
Folks who are just browsing for information get stopped here, not unsurprisingly. I can't blame them, I'd be unwilling to provide an email and zipcode just to look at the site.
If this is a sign-up web page from the official Obama website, it should be made clear that it's not the top level official Barack Obama site, and a link should be provided to Barack's excelent, official home page.
If it's somebody else's URL, perhaps the campaign could do something to try and take it down, because it's not helping, it's just causing confusion and turning off people who are looking for information.
Luckily, I was still on the phone and I could tell them to try another response from the google search - that it was not the official site.
Advertisement





I did not get the same - I got a page asking for help w/ the Hurricane and a link into the main Obama site..
September 14, 2008 7:01 PM | Reply | Permalink
Ditto. I'm failing to see the relevancy of this post.
September 14, 2008 8:00 PM | Reply | Permalink
I have duplicated this. The first sponsored link that occurs goes here
Not too welcoming.
September 14, 2008 7:25 PM | Reply | Permalink
The url is the Obmama campaign site. If you cut and paste www.barackObama.com into your browser you are taken to a live page, which the page at your comment link is not.
September 14, 2008 7:43 PM | Reply | Permalink
Unfortunately, Obama.com leads you to the newly famous Japanese municipality. The least they could do is put up a redirection link.
September 14, 2008 10:15 PM | Reply | Permalink
OK, this is getting worse.
I was asked a question about Joe Biden. I couldn't answer where he was and what he was doing. I agreed that he'd been missing from the news for the last week or so, rather to the detriment of the campaign.
So, I did a Google search for joe biden, thinking he might have his own site.
The first link that comes up is printed as:
"Obama-Biden Campaign"
The URL listed for that again is "www.BarackObama.com"
I had mistakenly printed it with a small "B" in my post.
Again, this links to a site that insists on an email and a zipcode.
The actual URL that web page reaches is:
http://my.barackobama.com/page/content/semsignupcky?source=SEM-register-google-biden-jbexact-search-us&gclid=CLya1Pnp3JUCFRGiiQodHzQZWg
This is less than useful.
September 14, 2008 11:14 PM | Reply | Permalink
You give your zip code and email and it takes you to the actual website. It's a way to get people to sign up for their email updates and such.
September 15, 2008 8:44 AM | Reply | Permalink